reviews 2023

We have received many reviews since we opened - these can be viewed from each year that we received them.

Overall since opening in April 2021 we have had over 400 guests stay with us from an incredible 32 countries.

96 AirBnB reviews 100% scoring 5* and we have a 9.6 average score with Booking.com

 

These reviews can also be viewed on the AirBnB / Booking.com website

 

Nos 90 premiers avis sont publiés sur la page Web - Avis 2021/22 Dans l'ensemble depuis l'ouverture en avril 2021, nous avons 96 avis AirBnB 100% avec une note de 5* et nous avons une note moyenne de 9,6 avec Booking.com



Le logement correspond clairement à la description et aux photos. Nous étions venus pour nous reposer et juste profiter du calme, un calme absolu pendant deux jours au coin du feu. David et Helen sont aux petits soins, très réactifs, arrangeants sur les horaires d’arrivée/départ et accueillants. Le petit déjeuner était excellent, nous l’avons prix chaque matin. Le lit est extrêmement confortable, tout comme le reste de l’équipement de la maison. Nous étions en plein milieu de la nature, au calme mais à seulement 10mn en voiture de certains restaurants et autres commerces. Bref, tout était parfait. Merci David et Helen.

Tiffany and Eddy - Palaiseau, France - AirBnB ***** March 2023 🇫🇷

Translation: The accommodation clearly corresponds to the description and the photos. We had come to rest and just enjoy the calm, absolute calm for two days by the fireside. David and Helen are very caring, very responsive, accommodating on arrival/departure times and welcoming. The breakfast was excellent, we ate it every morning. The bed is extremely comfortable, as is the rest of the equipment in the house. We were in the middle of nature, quiet but only 10 minutes by car from some restaurants and other shops. In short, everything was perfect. Thank you David and Helen


Magnifique et agréable gîte, pour une premier pour notre pete bébé. Nous n'aurons pas pu rever mieux. Lieu calme et trés propre, nous avons passé une nuit trés douce. Helen et David, merci encore pour acceuil. Vous avez une trés belle histoire ! On vous souhaite encore d'enouvrir plusieurs en France et ailleurs!

Bahiste, Peinda et Mani - Paris, France  - AirBnB ***** March 2023 🇫🇷

Translation: Magnificent and pleasant gite, for a first for our little baby. We couldn't have dreamed better. Quiet and very clean place, we spent a very pleasant night. Helen and David, thanks again for the welcome. You have a very nice story! We still wish you to open several in France and elsewhere!


Wonderful 4 night stay with everything provided in L'Hirondelle. Very comfortable super king size bed and lovely linen. Fully equipped kitchen with all you could need. Spotlessly clean, we cannot fault anything. Looking forward to a return visit.

David and Sally - North Wales - Direct booking March 2023  🇬🇧

Translation: Merveilleux séjour de 4 nuits avec tout prévu à L'Hirondelle. Lit super king size très confortable et belle literie. Cuisine entièrement équipée avec tout ce dont vous pourriez avoir besoin. Propreté impeccable, rien à redire. Dans l'attente d'une visite de retour.


Superbe endroit en pleine nature et au calme ! Ancienne grange rénovée avec beaucoup de goût, le gîte que propose David et Helen est superbe, d'une propreté impeccable et on s'y sent tout de suite bien. Avec ses grands espaces et ses poutres apparentes, nous sommes tout de suite tombés sous le charme. Et la cheminée n'a fait que nous convaincre. Un soir d'hiver au bord du feu, et tout vos soucis s'envole :) Pour ne rien gâcher, David et Helen sont des hôtes sympathiques très accueillant et aux petits soins. N’hésitez pas à réserver leurs petits déjeuners préparés, c'est digne d'un grand hôtel ! Merci beaucoup pour ce moment passé chez-vous, c'était une pause dans nos vies qui nous à fait le plus grand bien. Nous espérons avoir l'occasion de revenir. PS. Le livre sur votre aventure normande est une très bonne idée, nous avons adoré le lire et vivre un peu avec vous votre périple.

Pierre and Claire - Versailles, France - AirBnB ***** March 2023 🇫🇷

Translation: Superb place in the middle of nature and in peace! Old barn renovated with great taste, the cottage offered by David and Helen is superb, spotlessly clean and you immediately feel at home there. With its large spaces and exposed beams, we immediately fell in love. And the fireplace only convinced us. A winter evening by the fire, and all your worries fly away :) To top it off, David and Helen are friendly hosts who are very welcoming and caring. Do not hesitate to book their prepared breakfasts, it is worthy of a large hotel! Thank you very much for this moment spent with you, it was a break in our lives that did us the greatest good. We hope to have the opportunity to return. PS. The book on your Norman adventure is a very good idea, we loved reading it and living your journey a little with you.


Thank you David and Helen for another few days stay at la Martinière, it's our piece of sanctuary to get away from it all. Thank you for the excellent Makhani Butter Chicken curry after a long drive to reach you. We both slept like a log and being here in March it was so cozy with the wood burner. See you in September hopefully.

Phil and Gina - Hereford, United Kingdom - Direct booking March 2023 🇬🇧

Translation: Merci David et Helen pour un autre super séjour à la Martinière, c'est notre coin de paradis pour s'évader. Merci pour l'excellent curry de poulet au beurre Makhani après un long trajet pour vous rejoindre. Nous avons tous les deux dormi comme une bûche et être ici en mars, c'était tellement confortable avec le poêle à bois. Rendez-vous en septembre j'espère.


Beautiful renovation, hosts are most welcoming, so tranquil . Well worth a visit.

Louise - Crawley, United Kingdom - Booking.com 10/10 March 2023 🇬🇧

Translation: Belle rénovation, les hôtes sont des plus accueillants, si tranquilles. Vaut bien une visite.


Thank you again for yet another wonderful stay at La Martinière. Hospitality and catering was as always, fantastic. Cozy comfortable accomodation and was great seeing the cats again. There is a good reason why we don't stay anywhere else, thanks again.

Baz - Cambridge, United Kingdom - Direct booking February 2023 🇬🇧

Merci encore pour un autre merveilleux séjour à La Martinière. L'accueil et la restauration étaient comme toujours fantastiques. Hébergement confortable et confortable et c'était super de revoir les chats. Il y a une bonne raison pour laquelle nous n'allons nulle part ailleurs, merci encore.


Superbe séjour, la maison était impeccable, très propre et très fonctionnelle. De nombreuses commodités à notre disposition à l'arrivée : en-cas, capsules de café, gel douche etc. La propriété est impeccablement entretenue avec une belle pelouse. Calme et tranquillité vous attendent ! Super accueil par Helen et David, hôtes très sympathiques et très attentionnés, ce fut un plaisir de les rencontrer.

Arthur - Paris, France - Facebook / Google ***** February 2023 🇫🇷

Translation: Superb stay, the house was impeccable, very clean and very functional. Many amenities at our disposal on arrival: snacks, coffee capsules, shower gel etc. The property is immaculately kept with a beautiful lawn. Calm and tranquility await you! Great welcome by Helen and David, very friendly and very attentive hosts, it was a pleasure to meet them.


A perfect place to get away from our day to day life. Also a great surprise weekend for a birthday. David and Helen are excellent hosts and L'Hirondelle gîte was perfect. Great decor, great bed, great amenities. We will recommend to others. Thank you both for your restaurant recommendations. Cuisine de Bubba has delicious pizza and a fun environment. La Pause des Genets was top for a celebration birthday dinner! Especially after enjoying a visit to Mont St.Michel. Many Thanks.

Christopher and Ryan - Livarot, France - Direct Booking February 2023 🇺🇸

Translation: Un endroit parfait pour s'évader de notre quotidien. Egalement un super week-end surprise pour un anniversaire. David et Helen sont d'excellents hôtes et le gîte L'Hirondelle était parfait. Super décoration, super lit, super équipements. Nous recommanderons à d'autres. Merci à vous deux pour vos recommandations de restaurants. Cuisine de Bubba propose de délicieuses pizzas et un environnement amusant. La Pause des Genets était top pour un dîner d'anniversaire de fête ! Surtout après avoir profité d'une visite au Mont St.Michel. Merci beaucoup


This is our second stay in L'Hirondelle and it was as lovely as the first time. Very welcoming, super comfortable bed and a well equipped kitchen. The peace of the surroundings is very special - even more so in mid winter. We will definitely return.

Nicole and Gerry - Quethiock, United Kingdom - AirBnB ***** January 2023 🇬🇧

Translation: C'est notre deuxième séjour à L'Hirondelle et c'était aussi agréable que la première fois. Très bon accueil, lit super confortable et une cuisine bien équipée. La paix des environs est très spéciale - encore plus en plein hiver. Nous reviendrons certainement.


What a wondeful place to stay. Great hosts ! Very comforatable and cozy. Perfect ! Thank you.

Claire and Tony - Eye, United Kingdom - Booking.com 10/10 February 2023 🇬🇧

Translation: Quel merveilleux endroit où séjourner. Super hôtes ! Très confortable et douillet. Parfait ! Merci


We had a lovely stay in our home from home 'La Huppe' The gîte has far exceeded our expectations. Breakfasts have been delicious, plentiful and beautifully presented. We will spread the word.

Barbara and David - Coventry, United Kingdom - Direct Booking February 2023 🇬🇧

Translation: Nous avons passé un agréable séjour dans notre maison loin de chez nous 'La Huppe' Le gîte a largement dépassé nos attentes. Les petits déjeuners sont délicieux, copieux et joliment présentés. Nous passerons le mot.